Moments of 2011

It’s the start of another year, and for me this time of year always bring unwelcome questioning of paths taken & time spent.

This time last year, I made a vow to be sure I could look back on a year well spent. 2010 had the big things; a taekwondo Black belt, first half marathon, first walking holiday and Morocco, somewhere I’ve wanted to go forever. Oh, and of course, I bought a house! 2011, however, had more small amazing moments:

  • Ran my first 10k race on new year’s day
  • Took a beginners climbing course
  • Cycled to Bath
  • Visited Korea
  • Went away on business
  • Flew 1st class
  • Baked a Simnel cake
  • Experienced several truly amazing, indescribable moments of post-run joy
  • Broke the 50 minute barrier at the Bristol 10k
  • Played with fire learning to make glass beads
  • Grown a heap of vegetables
  • Spent a day climbing outdoors at Cheddar Gorge
  • Stuck to a training plan and knocked 6 minutes off my half marathon
  • Visited New York
  • Filled in my application for Chartered Engineer
  • Competed in a trail race
  • Volunteered
  • And, made some amazing friends

2012 has to top this, and I’m going to try to add some focus by writing a list. As I want to include some bigger goals, and 30 is approaching, it seems appropriate to make it a 2-and-a-bit-year plan, Starter list to follow!

Leave a Reply

