May races

It’s been a while since I’ve written anything on here & my progress on the list has been equally poor. However, it’s been a very exciting month race wise!

Firstly, there was the Wrington Woodland run, which is part of the TACH Summer Pub Series run by a local club. I went along to this with a friend (read, I dragged him along). The weather was miserable, but the run was brilliant, if very very muddy – I jumped in mud-puddles which went past my knees and nearly lost shoes in the sticky woodland tracks! I had bought some new offroad shoes which really earned a place in my heart that day. It was tough but lovely and we were rewarded at the end with a really beautiful sunset across the valley.

Muddy!

Muddy at the Wrington Woodland run

The second race was the Bristol 10k, a major road race with 11,000 entrants. I’d forgotten about this until a  couple of weeks before and I hadn’t trained because I decided after the Cribyn race that road running is dull. However, I figured I might as well run since I’d entered and I’m really glad I did because, as much as it was hard, painful and fairly dull, I did it in 47 minutes! Which is 3 minutes off my last PB and is 7:31 minute miles! Happy with that, but even now I’m having to stop myself wondering if I could make 45 with training; there are better things to do with my time than hours of training for the sake of 2 minutes!

Bristol 10k

In pain at the Bristol 10k!

Thirdly, I ran another local race, the Tyntesfield 10k which is run around a local national trust property. I hadn’t had a rest day since the Bristol race and it was unbelievably hot, so I wasn’t expecting to do well in the race. I managed somewhere around 55 minutes which I’m really happy with under the circumstances. It was a beautiful run, really well organised and with 350 runners which was a really nice size. Plus, it was £8 which included entry into the gardens (normally charged for, although we obviously weren’t free to relax!), water and a banana and commemorative mug at the end! Bargain! I’m definitely going back with more refreshed legs next year!

Unphotographed at the Tynesfield 10k!

Leave a Reply

